Design Resources

A full list of design resources to make your DIY life a bit easier

I’m Black Y’all /Afro-centered Stock Photography (Mostly Paid)

CreateHer (http://www.createherstock.com/) Created for Black women; Owned Black

Color Stock (http://getcolorstock.com/) Created for people of color; Owned Black

Lola | 50 Shades of Black Stock (https://50shadesofblackstock.com/) Created for women of color; Owned Black

Getty Images  (Higher end photography and recent events)

Shutterstock (http://www.shutterstock.com/s/african-american/search.html)

123rf (http://www.123rf.com/) Refine your search by model-African American

IStockPhoto (http://www.istockphoto.com/) Ran by Getty Images

Think Stock (http://www.thinkstockphotos.com/) Ran by Getty Images

Free Digital Photos (http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/) Search African-American; Small sizes are free with attribution required- larger sizes paid.

Royalty Free Images at Can Stock Photo (Search for African-American) Note: *This is an affiliate link*

PicNoi (http://picnoi.com/) Created for people of color.

Comma, Comma, Comma, Commercial Free Photography (Free Stock Photography)

123rf (http://www.123rf.com/browsefreeimages.php) Attribution required

500px  Attribution may be required

Albumrium (http://albumarium.com/)

Compfight (http://compfight.com/) Search through Flickr’s creative commons

Creative Commons Photos (https://freeimages.red/)

Cupcake (http://cupcake.nilssonlee.se/)

Death to Stock Photos (http://join.deathtothestockphoto.com/) Membership based; emailed monthly

Designerspics (http://www.designerspics.com/) Attribution welcome; not required

Epicantus (http://epicantus.tumblr.com/) Attribution not required

Every Stock Photo (http://www.everystockphoto.com/) Attribution required

Finda. Photo (http://finda.photo/) Search by color; check to make sure its public domain.

Foodies Feed (https://foodiesfeed.com/) Attribution requested; not required.

Foter (http://foter.com/) Attribution required; WordPress plugin

Free Images (http://www.freeimages.com/) Sign up process

Free Nature Stock (http://freenaturestock.com/)

Free Range Stock (https://freerangestock.com/) Sign up process

Free Stock Image Point (http://www.stock-image-point.com/)

Good Free Photos (http://www.goodfreephotos.com/)

Gratisography (http://www.gratisography.com/) Attribution requested; no required.

I Am Creator (http://www.imcreator.com/free)

ISO Republic (http://isorepublic.com/)

Jay Mantri (http://jaymantri.com/) Photographer shares images; no attribution required

Jeshoots (http://jeshoots.com/) Some free and paid

Kaboom Pics (http://kaboompics.com/#)

LibreStock (http://librestock.com/) No attribution required

MorgueFile (http://morguefile.com/) Make sure they are public domain; most are free.

Pickup Image (http://pickupimage.com/)

Picktography (http://picography.co/)

Pixabay (https://pixabay.com/)

RGB Stock (http://www.rgbstock.com/)

Snap Wire Snaps (http://snapwiresnaps.tumblr.com/)

Unsplash (https://unsplash.com/)

UPICM (http://www.upicm.com/)

Design Me, Baby with Free Graphic Design Online Resources

Canva (https://www.canva.com/) Graphic design editor and photo editor.

PicMonkey (http://www.picmonkey.com/) (Online Photo Editor)

Relay (https://www.relaythat.com/) Intuitive graphic design editor

Pixlr (https://pixlr.com/) Online Photo Editor –very similar to Photoshop

GIMP (https://www.gimp.org/windows/) Downloadable Photo Editor Application for Desktop—almost identical to Photoshop

Tailor Brands (https://www.tailorbrands.com/) Simple logo design –good for inspiration (must pay a fee for vector based logo)

Inkscape (https://inkscape.org/en/) Downloadable vector graphics editor for Desktop- almost identical to Adobe Illustrator

Adobe Post (https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/adobe-post-create-stunning/id1051937863?mt=8) Quick graphics app –only for Iphone users currently.

Youidraw (http://site.youidraw.com/) Online vector graphics program-can also create logo designs- vector download of work requires a fee.

Method Draw (http://editor.method.ac/) Online vector program –export as PNG image only.

Creative Market (https://creativemarket.com/) The vortex of all really great design stuff for great prices; be warned –you may live there for weeks.

Design Cuts (https://www.designcuts.com/) The parallel universe of Creative Market with tons of design goodies in low-cost packages.

Evanto (http://market.envato.com/)  A whole other star system of complete graphic mayhem including WordPress themes.

Logo Dust (http://logodust.com/)  Subscribe for free weekly logo graphics you can use to build a logo design.

Color Me Bad with Color Schemes Resources

Adobe Kuler (https://color.adobe.com/create/color-wheel/?copy=true) Pick colors from photos and download swatches into Adobe Creative Suite products. Sign up required

Coolors (https://coolors.co/) Online Color scheme generator (download swatches as PDF or images with color codes)-Pick from photos too

HTML Color Codes (http://html-color-codes.info/colors-from-image/) Pick the hex decimal color codes from any saved image.

Color Hexa (http://www.colorhexa.com/) online color code conversion generator

ColourLOVERS (http://www.colourlovers.com/palettes) various color schemes or create your own; even various patterns and DIY your own patterns.

Color Palettes (http://colorpalettes.net/) A variety of color schemes from various pictures.

Design Seeds (http://design-seeds.com/search)

Free Your Mind Fonts- Free and Paid Commercial Use Fonts

Font Squirrel (https://www.fontsquirrel.com/) Saving grace of fonts; even with a “matcherator” to search for a font by uploading an image.

Creative Market (https://creativemarket.com/fonts) The vortex. Nuff said.

My Fonts (https://www.myfonts.com/)

Da Font (http://www.dafont.com/) A few are public domain; check on the right hand corner of the font to make sure its 100% commercial free. If not; you can always click the artist link to purchase the single or extended license.

Pin It on Pinterest